Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse
The Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse was built in 1828 and is the island’s oldest surviving one room schoolhouse. The Daughters of the American Revolution, Seacoast Defense Chapter operated a maritime museum there for many years.
The iconic flagpole erected in front of the schoolhouse commemorates an act of patriotism during the Revolutionary War. A plaque attached to the pole names three Holmes Hole women who got dynamite from the armory and blew up the town flagpole to prevent the British from using it as a spar for their warship.
Connect with this landmark
The Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse is not open regularly to the public but is available for rent for small functions. Please contact us to learn more.